In the Moment

I just got back from picking my son up after school.  Between football and lacrosse and everything in between he rarely takes the bus home.  While the school is not around the corner it is just a mere 9 minutes away, much better than some of my friends on the other side of town, but it can still get tedious.  As I was driving there I was reminded of how many times I made that same ride for my older son and how I longed for the day when he would be old enough to do it for himself.

That day came much faster than I thought it would and as I look back I realize how precious those times were.  The good news is that I get to do it all over again with the 20-20 hindsight that comes with it.  And for those of you who are in the midst of this very https://i0.wp.com/www.cartoonstock.com/newscartoons/cartoonists/dbr/lowres/families-school-driving-motherhood-parents-i_think_therefore_i_am-dbrn911l.jpgexperience you may think me crazy but I would like to tell you to enjoy this while you can.

If your child is a freshman or a sophomore, you may think that you still have so many more of these days ahead of you and look upon this as a burden, just one more thing to do in the midst of a day that is already filled with far too much.  But I cannot tell you how much I miss having my older son all to myself in the car – or even with a few of his friends.

Think of the opportunity.  They have nowhere that they can go and if you can get them to take the earphones out of their ears long enough you can actually have a substantive conversation.  You might even get some real information from them delivered in multi-syllable words.  And if you are lucky enough that they have a friend along, or several friends, it is sometimes amazing what you can find out just by listening.

Nowadays, as I take the 9 minute drive along roads that I think my car could go on its own I don’t look upon it as something I cannot wait to end but rather I am thankful that I have the opportunity to do it again.  As I sit in front of the school and wait for whatever activity it is to end, instead of feeling irritated at my inability to do be doing something I think is more pressing, I remind myself that there really is nowhere else I need to be that is more important.

I remember the first time I drove by the school after my older son had graduated and I really did miss those days of waiting there, my son and his friends jumping into the car, listening to what had happened that day.  So while this might not be exactly something that you need to be thinking about in getting ready for college, it is something you should not overlook because it will be gone in a blink of an eye.  This I can surely guarantee you.  I know I will be enjoying every minute of playing “Mom the Taxi” for the next couple of years, I am telling you that you should, too.

This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Moment

  1. Cheryl Panetta says:

    Well written, I would love to go back to those days. I miss my boys and that precious time we had together.

  2. stacy strum says:

    Thanks for sharing Jackie- nice reminder to li!ve in the moment- I find out more infirmation in the car ride especially when friends are with us- funny how much other kids will tell you compared to your own! I have also been making sure to kiss my son goodbye every morning- at first he balked but now I notice he waits
    for it! Nice way to start the day and remind myself that he may look like a man but he’s still really a boy trying to find his way in the world.

  3. Lois Taylor says:

    Believe it or not Jacki, I remember those days. My children took the bus after activities. The
    schedules were not so crowded. You chose a sport, or activity and you gave it your best.
    Crowding several activities in one semester didn’t happen . Academic schedules took precedent
    over other activities. Think how much better this was for the environment.(1 bus vs ? SUVs)
    I agree that you should enjoy those days.
    Hopefully, it worked for my children. My granddaughter was just nominated for a Fulbright Scholarship.

Leave a comment